FORMED: 1981
Formed by the vocalist Haco, After Dinner embraced various styles of music from new wave to avant-garde rock and Japanese traditional music such as Shakuhachi. Consisting of a various lineup throughout its ten-year existence, the band drew musicians from different musical backgrounds for each project. The group's first single was "After Dinner/Cymbals at Dawn," released in 1982, and was followed by the full-length album Glass Tube in 1983.

Praised by critics internationally for it's avant-garde mixture of Japanese traditional music and electronics, it was only available in the West on import. 1984's After Dinner was the group's official foreign debut. Three years later, the band toured Europe for the first time. A recording of various concerts from the tour, Souvenir Cassette was released in 1988. 1989 saw the release of Paradise of Replica, which featured an incredible array of instruments and was followed by another tour in Europe to increased popularity.

However, this was the last album of original material released by the band. After Dinner/Live Editions (1991) coupled the group's first album with five tracks from Souvenir Cassette and four additional live tracks. A remastered edition of Paradise of Replica including four remixed tracks was released in 2001. Haco appeared in the 1990 documentary film, Step Across the Border, and a song of hers was featured in the soundtrack. ~ Geoff Orens, All Music Guide