Boys Brigade PhotoBoys Brigade was a strong pop/rock group that laid down roots in Toronto, Canada, in 1981. The band's music is somewhat comparable to that of Wishbone Ash, Rush, or Little Steven. The full roster for Boys Brigade included lead singer and keyboardist Malcolm Burn, percussionists and background singers Jeff Packer and David Porter, guitarist and singer Tony Lester, drummer Bill Brock, and bassist Wayne Lorenz. The band only lasted intact for a few years, but managed to recorded one album and two hit singles, "The Passion of Love" and "Melody."

Geddy Lee, a member himself of Rush, worked as producer for Boys Brigade when the group began recording its self-titled debut album in 1983. Besides the two big hits listed above that the album created, some of the other tracks on the first full-length offering were "Mannequin," "Exodus," and "Into the Flow." After receiving great reviews from critics and such success with a first effort, it was a huge surprise when Boys Brigade fell apart a short time later, even before a sophomore album could be finished. ~ Charlotte Dillon, All Music Guide

Photography By: Josef Astor