The Payola$ PhotoVocalists Paul Hyde and Bob Rock formed The Payola$ with drummer Chris Taylor and bassist Larry Wilkins. After "China Boys" was released on their own Slophouse Records, A&M signed the band and released four albums from 1979 to 1985 - No Stranger to Danger (1982), Hammer on a Drum (1983), In a Place like This (1984) and Here's the World for Ya (1985). After breaking up in 1985, Rock and Hyde continued on, releasing a popular single in 1987 called "Dirty Water." Paul Hyde left for a solo career in 1989; Bob Rock later joined the band Rockhead. ~ John Bush, All Music Guide