Power pop/new wave group the Yachts was formed in 1978 by Liverpool art-schoolmates Henry Priestman (vocals, keyboards), Martin Watson (guitar, vocals), Martin Dempsey (bass, vocals), Bob Bellis (drums, vocals), and J.J. Campbell (vocals). They signed to Stiff Records after a supporting spot for Elvis Costello in 1977, releasing the endlessly catchy "Suffice to Say" single (produced by Will Birch) before following Costello to Radar Records. They released two power pop classics, Yachts (1979) and Yachts Without Radar (1980), before disbanding in the early '80s when power pop fell from favor. ~ Chris Woodstra, All Music Guide